The Louis Shores Award Committee is Currently Inviting Nominations for the 2019 Recipient

Established in 1990, the Louis Shores Award recognizes an individual reviewer, group, editor, review medium, or organization for excellence in reviewing. The award recipient is selected for significant achievement related to a reviewing process that helps librarians make selection and collection development decisions. Online and in-print work is considered equally. The winner(s) receives a citation.

To submit a nomination:

Follow this link to the nomination form:

Note: Winners do not need to be members of RUSA or members of any of the other categories listed on the form. Answering “no” to these questions will in no way affect a nominee’s prospects.


Send the form and a letter describing and assessing the nominee’s contributions reviewing books and/or other materials for libraries as relevant to the selection criteria listed below. Include 5 recent sample reviews or links to reviews. The committee will pay special attention to the samples submitted but will also consider the wider body of work of each nominee.

Selection Criteria:

  1. The reviewer’s body of work, or the review source, is significant to the library profession.
  2. The reviewer/source serves an active role in the development of collections of all kinds.
  3. The quality, insight, and presentation of the reviews/source serve as a model for others.
  4. The reviewer/source is innovative and/or advances the role of reviews in selection and collection development.
  5. The reviewer’s body of work, or the review source, is a pleasure to read, is useful, and is authoritative/knowledgeable.

Deadline: Submissions must be received by January 15, 2019

Email submissions only. All documents should be emailed to:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.