2019 Midwinter – RUSA Book & Media Awards Ceremony and Reception

Join us for this popular event as we unveil the year’s best in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, audiobook narration, and reference materials, featuring the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction. Winners are hand-picked by our expert selection committees that work closely with adult readers. Their tireless efforts narrow down hundreds of finalists to curate the highly regarded “Best of” lists used by librarians, publishers and booksellers nationwide. All Midwinter attendees are invited to this free event.

We would love to see you at the RUSA Book & Media Awards Ceremony and Reception on Sunday, January 27 – 5:00pm to 7:00pm, Hyatt Regency Seattle, JR. Ballroom West. Below is a list of the awards that will be featured at the ceremony:

Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction

Committee:  Annie Bostrom (Chair), Craig Allan Clark, Marlene A. Harris, Susan Maguire, Katherine E. Sexton, Sarah Barbara Watstein

Notable Books List

Committee:  Kristen Rae Allen-Vogel (Chair), Hilary Meg Albert, Gloria A. Drake, Lizzie Gall, William Patrick Kelly, JR, Lynn Lobash, Jeanessa Smith, Christine Wells, Michelle Young, Hana Zittel, Mary Callaghan Zunt

Reading List

Committee:  Tammy Ryan (Chair), Nanette Wargo Donohue, Michele Q. Drovdahl, Halle Elizabeth Eisenman, Matthew Galloway, Carol Lynn Gladstein, Andrea Gough, Sarah Jaffa, Edward Kownslar, Janet Schneider, Estella Terrazas

Listen List: Outstanding Audiobook Narration

Committee:  Danise G. Hoover (Chair), Ron Block, Sarah Hashimoto, Sarah B. Hill, Lauren Kage, Lucy M. Lockley, Dorothy J. Ownes, Christa Van Herreweghe

Sophie Brody Medal

Committee:  Jo Schofield (Chair), Barbara M. Bibel, Erin Fishman, Howard Fuller, Stacey J. Hayman, Isabel Gordon Klein, Eve A. Nyren, Patrick J. Wall

Dartmouth Medal

Committee:  Sara Duff (Chair), Donald Altschiller, Brian E. Coutts, Janice Derr, Barry Trott

Outstanding Reference Sources

Committee:  Kara Krekeler (Chair), Nateisha Allen, Shelley A. Arlen, Cindy L. Craig, Curt G. Friehs, Lisa N. Johnston, Alanna Sablotny, Paul L. Weaver



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/customer/www/rusaupdate.org/public_html/wp-includes/class-wp-hook.php on line 315