2020 Midwinter – RUSA Book & Media Awards Ceremony and Reception

Join us for this popular event as we unveil the year’s best in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, audiobook narration, and reference materials, featuring the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction. This highly anticipated event is sponsored by  and . Winners are hand-picked by our expert selection committees that work closely with adult readers. Their tireless efforts narrow down hundreds of finalists to curate the highly regarded “Best of” lists used by librarians, publishers and booksellers nationwide. All Midwinter attendees are invited to this free event.

We would love to see you at the RUSA Book & Media Awards Ceremony and Reception on Sunday, January 26 – 5:00pm to 7:00pm, Philadelphia Marriott, Grand C-D & E.

Below is a list of the awards that will be featured at the ceremony:

Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction

Committee: Donna Seaman (Chair), Hilary Albert, Barbara M. Bibel, Sarah Goddin, Carol Haggas, Stacey J. Hayman, Patrick J. Wall

Notable Books List

Committee:  Lizzie Gall (Chair), Lynn Lobash (Vice-Chair), Lillian Dabney, Bill Kelly, William Patrick Kelly, Edward Kownslar, Eve A. Nyren, Janet Schneider, Jeanessa Smith, Stephen M. Sposato, Sarah Barbara Watstein, Hana Zittel, Cal Zunt.

Reading List

Committee:  Matthew Galloway (Chair), Craig Allan Clark, Ms. Gloria A. Drake, Halle Elizabeth Eisenman, Andrea Gough, Marlene A. Harris, Jackie Nicole Kropp, Teresa May, Jo Schofield, Karin Suni

Listen List: Outstanding Audiobook Narration

Committee:  Sarah Hashimoto (Chair), Ron Block, Katie Corrigan, Nanette Wargo Donohue, Sarah B. Hill, Danise G. Hoover,  Lauren Kage,  Christa Van Herreweghe

Sophie Brody Medal

Committee:  Erin Fishman (Chair), Jennifer Fairchild, Samantha Cordell Helmick, Jennifer Jumba, Adela Peskorz, Kristine Marie Sandy, Janet Schneider, Karen Shaw-Widman, Valerie Morgan Taylor

Dartmouth Medal

Committee:  Sara Duff (Chair), Donald Altschiller, Brian E. Coutts, Janice Derr, Barry Trott

Outstanding Reference Sources

Committee:  Cindy L. Craig (Chair), Barbara M. Bibel, Valerie Freeman, Curt G. Friehs, Barbara Ghilardi, David Greene, Jean-ann Marie Stump, Henrietta Verma


Committee: Neal Wyatt (Chair), Rebecca Federman, Brian J. Kenney, Lucy M. Lockley, Sarah Campbell Tansley