2021 Achievement Awards Nomination Period Opens

Call for Nominations! 

There are so many people doing good work; this is a chance to make sure they get the national recognition they deserve. RUSA is now seeking nominations for the 2021 Achievement Awards!

Please take a look at the award summaries below with these questions in mind:

Is there anyone you know that could be worthy of consideration?What library in your area has been excelling in this work?

Consider nominating someone if your answer is ‘YES’ to either of those questions. You can access the nomination form underneath each award description below. The deadline for nominations is February 12th, 2021.
RUSA Isadore Gilbert Mudge Award
Presents a monetary prize and a citation to an individual who has made a distinguished contribution to reference librarianship.
More information …
RUSA Margaret E. Monroe Library Adult Services Award
$1,250 and a citation presented to a librarian who has made significant contributions to library adult services.
More information…
RUSA Award for Excellence in Reference and Adult Library Services
A citation and monetary award presented to a library or library system for developing an imaginative and unique resource to meet patrons’ reference needs.
More information…
RUSA John Sessions Memorial Award
A library or library system which has made a significant effort to work with the labor community and by doing so has brought recognition to the history and contribution of the labor movement to the development of the United States.
More information…
RUSA Gail Schlachter Memorial Research Grant
Awarded annually in the amount of $5,000 to financially support an individual or collaborative group conducting research into reference or user services whose research projects aim to better understand or answer key questions related to connecting people to resources, information services, and collections.
More information…
RUSA Exceptional Service Award
This award is given to recognize exceptional service to patients, to the home bound, to people of all ages who live in group homes or residences, and to inmates, as well as to recognize professional leadership, effective interpretation of programs, pioneering activity, and significant research of experimental projects.
More information…
RUSA Federal Achievement Award
The Federal Achievement Award presented by ASGCLA 2019-2020, was formerly the FAFLRT Achievement Award. The award recognizes an individual for achievement in the promotion of library and information service and the information profession in the Federal community. Those nominated need not be members of RUSA.
More information…
RUSA Federal Rising Stars Initiative
Federal Rising Stars Initiative, begun by FAFLRT, has been administered by ASGCLA since the merger with FAFLRT. The award, highlights the achievements of those new to the profession. Rising Stars are those people who display a passion for the profession, both at work and via volunteer or association activities.More information…
RUSA Francis Joseph Campbell Award
A citation and a medal presented to a person or institution that has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of library service for people with physical disabilities and/or physical impairments.
More information…
RUSA/Keystone Library Automation System (KLAS) & National Organization on Disability (NOD) Award
A $1,000 award and certificate for a library organization that has provided services for people with disabilities. The award recognizes an innovative and well-organized project which successfully developed or expanded services for people with disabilities.
More information…
BRASS Public Librarian Support Award
This annual award sponsored by Morningstar, offers a cash award of $1,250 in travel funds for a public librarian, who has performed outstanding business reference service, and who requires financial assistance, to attend the ALA Annual Conference.
More information…
BRASS Student Travel Award
Established in 1992, this $1,250 monetary prize is given to a student enrolled in an ALA accredited master’s degree program to fund travel to and attendance at the ALA Annual Conference and a one-year membership in the Business Reference and Services Section (BRASS) of RUSA.
More information…
BRASS Excellence in Business Librarianship Award
Established in 1989, the BRASS Award for Excellence in Business Librarianship offers $4,000 and a citation to a librarian that has distinguished themselves in the field of Business Librarianship.
More information…
BRASS Research Grant Award
Awarded to an individual or team seeking support to conduct research in business librarianship. One $5,000 award will be presented.
More information…
BRASS Academic Business Librarianship Travel Award
This award presents a citation and $1,250 to an individual new to the field of academic business librarianship in order to support attendance to the ALA Annual Conference.
More information…

CODES Louis Shores Award
Established in 1990, this award recognizes an individual reviewer, group, editor, review medium, or organization for excellence in book reviewing and other media for libraries. Award winners receive a citation.
More information…

ETS Best Emerging Technology Application Award
Established in 2019, the ETS Best Emerging Technology Application Award offers $3,000 to an individual or group in recognition of a technology application that directly benefits library users.
More information…
ETS Achievement Award
Given annually to recognize excellence in service to RUSA’s Emerging Technologies Section (ETS). The recipient must have made either (1) sustained contributions toward attaining the goals of ETS, or (2) a single, significant contribution that has resulted in a positive impact upon the work of the section.
More information…
HS Genealogy / History Achievement Award
Presents a citation and $1,500 to a librarian, library or publisher, in recognition of professional achievement in historical or genealogical reference, service, or research librarianship.
More information…
HS History Research and Innovation Award
Granted to an individual librarian or library staff member in order to facilitate and further research relating to history and history librarianship.
More information…

RSS Service Achievement Award
Given to an RSS member who has made either a sustained contribution towards attaining the goals of the Reference Services Section or a single significant contribution that has resulted in a positive impact upon the work of the section.
More information…

STARS Virginia Boucher Distinguished ILL Librarian Award
An annual award consisting of $2,000, sponsored by OCLC, and a citation. It recognizes an individual for outstanding professional achievement, leadership, and contributions to interlibrary loan and document delivery through recent publication of significant professional literature, participation in professional associations, and/or innovative approaches to practice in individual libraries.
More information…
STARS Mentoring Award
Offers a gifts of $1,250 to fund travel expenses associated with attending ALA’s annual conference. The recipient will be a library practitioner who is new to the field of interlibrary loan/document delivery or electronic reserves, and who has daily, hands-on involvement in the areas of borrowing, lending, document delivery, electronic reserves, material delivery, or resource sharing.
More information…
RUSA thanks all of its Achievment Award Sponsors!!!
Font Resize