Book & Media Awards Ceremony

Join us for this popular event as we unveil the year’s best in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, audiobook narration, and reference materials, featuring the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction. This highly anticipated event is sponsored by NoveList, Booklist and RUSA. Winners are hand-picked by our expert selection committees that work closely with adult readers. Their tireless efforts narrow down hundreds of finalists to curate the highly regarded “Best of” lists used by librarians, publishers and booksellers nationwide.

The 2022 RUSA Book & Media Awards Ceremony and Reception will be held virtually during the ALA LibLearnX on Sunday, January 23 – 4:30pm to 5:30pm Central.

Below is a list of the awards that will be featured at the ceremony:

Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction

Committee: Terry Hong (Chair), Michael Cart, Aryssa Damron, Bill Kelly, Savannah Kitchens, Sara Martinez, Derrick Young

Notable Books List

Committee:  Hana Zittel (Chair), Allison M. Escoto (Vice-Chair), Hilary Meg Albert, Kristen Rae Allen-Vogel, Lillian Dabney, Sara Duff, Gwen Glazer, Edward Kownslar, Rochelle Lundy, Robyn M. Lupa, Meredith Mann, Eve A. Nyren, Katharine J. Phenix, Nonny Schlotzhauer, Jo Schofield

Reading List

Committee:  Halle Eisenman (Chair), Erin Boyington, Ann C. Cox, Amy Alicia Dittmeier, Michele Q. Drovdahl, Andrea Gough, Stephanie Handy, Marlene Harris, Sara Jaffa, Liz Kirchhoff, Kara Krekeler, Teresa May, Katherine Schorling, Karin Suni

Listen List: Outstanding Audiobook Narration

Committee:  Nanette Wargo Donohue (Chair) , Janice Derr, Alicia Kathryn Ahlvers, Ron Block, Matthew Galloway, Jessica Gilson

Sophie Brody Medal

Committee:  Barbara Bibel (Chair), Donald Altschiller, Mary Parker, Adela Peskorz, David L. Suarez, Sarah Barbara Watstein

Dartmouth Medal

Committee:  Barry Trott (Chair), Donald Altschiller, Brian E. Coutts, Lauren A. Seegmiller and Katie Mediatore Stover

Outstanding Reference Sources

Committee:  Valerie Freeman (Chair), Joshua Newport, Jeff Schwartz, Kristin E.C. Green, Jean-ann Marie Stump

Essential Cookbooks 2022: The CODES List

Committee: Neal Wyatt (Chair), P.J. Gardiner, Danise G. Hoover, Jessica Jones, Sharon Rothman, Sarah Tansley

The event is available for all ALA LibLearnX registrants and will also be streamed live to the ALA YouTube and on RUSA’s Facebook page.