BRASS Academic Business Librarianship Travel Award sponsored by Global Financial Data

This award presents a citation and $1,250 to an individual new to the field of academic business librarianship in order to support attendance to the ALA Annual Conference. The winner does not need to be a member of ALA, RUSA, or BRASS but preference will be given to those that are, indeed members. Applicants should be an academic librarian with five or fewer years of experience in business librarianship or be a new (less than five years) member to BRASS. This award is made possible by the generous support of Global Financial Data.

*Monetary award amounts are subject to change without notice and are contingent upon donor funding supplied at the time the award is presented.


To nominate a deserving candidate, complete the nomination form.  The nomination form can be found on the RUSA Update Resources page. Non-ALA members must submit their nominations to the committee chair.

Questions about the award and submission process may be directed to the committee chair.

Submission Guidelines

Submit the following materials with the nomination form:

  1. A letter of nomination describing the nominee’s interest in business librarianship as demonstrated by activities that may include (but are not limited to) past coursework, internships, jobs, special projects, and publications. This letter should address how the ALA experience would enhance individual career development or the advancement of the profession of business librarianship. Please briefly discuss the need for financial assistance.
  2. The nominee’s current CV.
  3. Self-nominations are encouraged to include an additional letter of recommendation.

Award Recipients

2019: Abigail Morgan, Social Sciences & Business Librarian, Miami University

2018: Alice Kalinowski, Liaison Librarian, the University of Pittsburgh

2017: Bradley J. Kuykendall, Reference and Instruction Librarian at Lincoln University, Missouri

2016: Ruth D. Terry, business and government information librarian, assistant professor, University of Alaska-Anchorage

2015: Grace Liu, University of Maine

2014: Desirae Zingarelli-Sweet, James Madison University

2013: Annette Buckley, University of California at Irvine

2012: Joel Glogowski

Font Resize