BRASS Excellence in Business Librarianship Award sponsored by Mergent by FTSE Russell

Mergent logo

Established in 1989, the BRASS Award for Excellence in Business Librarianship offers $4,000* and a citation to a librarian that has distinguished themselves in the field of Business Librarianship. This award is sponsored by Mergent by FTSE Russell.

*Monetary award amounts are subject to change without notice and are contingent upon donor funding supplied at the time the award is presented.


The selection of a recipient is accomplished through a review of written nominations by the BRASS Award for Excellence in Business Librarianship Committee.

The recipient’s contribution may lie in a variety of endeavors, such as authoring a seminal book or articles in business librarianship, the development of an imaginative and successful program centered around business within a library, the teaching of business librarianship in a particularly creative manner, the display of unusually strong leadership in a professional association geared to business librarianship, or other activities that encourage librarians to excel in business librarianship.


Nominations must clearly state the contributions of the nominee in the field of business librarianship and explain the significance of the contributions (such as, effect on ideas/practices of the field, extent and depth of research and publishing, effect of leadership on organizations) and the magnitude of their influence. Self-nominations are accepted.

To submit a nomination, complete the nomination form. The nomination form can be found on the RUSA Update Resources page. Non-ALA members can submit their nominations using the Non-ALA Member Form.

Questions should be directed to the committee chair.

Submission Guidelines

Letters of nomination should be submitted along with the nomination form. These letters must clearly state the contributions of the nominee in the field of business librarianship, and must explain the significance of these contributions and the magnitude of their influence. Self-nominations are accepted.

Award Recipients

2019: Todd Hines, Manager, Research & Discovery and Business Research Librarian, Stanford University GSB Library

2018: Chris LeBeau, Assistant Teaching Professor, University of Missouri and Librarian for Management and Public Administration

2017: Elizabeth Malafi, Coordinator at the Miller Business Center, Middle Country Public Library

2016: Jared Hoppenfeld, business librarian, Texas A&M University

2015: Peter Z. McKay, business librarian, University of Florida

2014: Celia Ross, Ross School of Business, University of Michigan

2013: Michael R. Oppenheim, Rosenfeld Management Library, UCLA

2012: Rita W. Moss

2011: Nicolette Warisse Sosulski, Portage District Library

2010: Jennifer Boettcher, Business Reference Librarian at Georgetown University

2009: Michael Halperin, Lippincott Library, The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania

2008: Gary White

2007: Sylvia James

2006: Bobray Bordelon

2005: Charles J. Popovich

2004: Michael Madden

2003: Anne P. Mintz

2002: Irwin D. Faye

2001: Karen Chapman

2000: Catherine R. Friedman

1999: Priscilla Cheng Geahigan

1998: John Ganly

1997: Paul Wasserman

1996: Ruth A. Pagell

1995: Mark Leggett

1994: Judith May Nixon

1993: Lorna Daniells

1992: Michael R. Lavin

1991: Gerald L. Gill

1990: Diane C. Strauss

Font Resize