HS Online History Award

The HS Online History Award is offered every other year beginning in 2005. Awarded to a publisher of reference materials in the field of history, the award recognizes the accomplishments of a person or a group of people producing (1) a freely available online historical collection, or (2) an online tool tailored for the purpose of finding historical materials, or (3) an online teaching aid stimulating creative historical scholarship. A citation is presented.

The award seeks to encourage the development of freely available, sustainable online history resources by singling out innovative projects and the individuals who created them. Projects shall have been completed (or, in the case of a regularly updated database, well established) in the two years prior to nomination and serve as a model for broader emulation. Examples can include:

  • Primary sources digitized from the collections of more than one repository
  • Guides to research on an historical subject that span multiple formats and repositories
  • Databases incorporating citations, annotations, text, multimedia, and/or hyperlinks
  • Presentations of an historical theme stimulating new approaches to its teaching

*Monetary award amounts are subject to change without notice and are contingent upon donor funding supplied at the time the award is presented.


The nominee(s) must be employed by a library or educational institution during the year prior to nomination for the award; institutions do not qualify. There is no restriction on the nominating individual.

To nominate an individual or group, complete the nomination form (PDF format), and follow the submission instructions therein. The nomination form can be found on the RUSA Update Resources page. Questions should be directed to the committee chair. Non-ALA members must submit their nominations to the committee chair.

Submission Guidelines

Nominations should be no more than three pages in length. Materials should include:

  1. The completed nomination form
  2. The material’s chronological, geographical and thematic partners
  3. Some measurement of the quantity of information presented in the resources
  4. A statement about what is innovative and unique in the resource

This is a bi-annual award. Submissions will next be accepted in 2018.

Recent Recipients

2016. Kara Reuter and Stefan Langer of Worthington Library of Ohio for the “Worthington Memory” project.

2015. Joanne Murray, The Legacy Center, Drexel University College of Medicine for “Doctor or Doctress?: Explore American history through the eyes of women physicians.”

2013. Brian Grubbs, Springfield-Greene County (Mo.) Library District for  Community and conflict: The impact of the Civil War in the Ozarks,”

2011. Stephen Robertson, Shane White, Stephen Garton and Graham White, University of Sydney, Australia for Digital Harlem: Everyday Life, 1915-1930.

2009.  Ken Middleton, Middle Tennessee State University, for Discovering American Women’s History Online.

2007. Three honorable mentions: Bethlehem Digital History Project, Bethlehem; Densho: The Japanese American Legacy Project; and Giza Archives Project.

2005. Oregon Historical Society, Portland for the Oregon History Project ( http://www.ohs.org/education/oregonhistory/index.cfm).

Font Resize