Quarterly Update

Carol Schuetz, editor



From the History Chair

Hello History Section members!

I am looking forward to my term as Chair of the History section for 2020-2021 alongside the other Executive Committee members, Vice Chair/Chair-Elect Anne Jamieson, Past Chair Melissa Gonzalez, Secretary Eileen Bentsen, and Members-at-Large Celestina Savonius-Wroth, Nicole Wood, and Rebecca Lloyd.

Whether you are brand new to RUSA HS or have been a member for years, we would love to hear from you! If you have any comments or ideas about how we can make HS better, please let us know. If you’re new to RUSA and/or the History section, we encourage you to get involved. There are plenty of volunteer opportunities, and we’re committed to finding a place for anyone who wants to serve. Visit the RUSA HS website to learn more about our committees and please contact me with any questions!

Please read on for a recap of our section activities, and keep up with RUSA HS through Facebook, Twitter, history-l, and ALA Connect. Be on the lookout for virtual RUSA HS programs this fall!


Kathy Shields

The History Section Goes Virtual for Annual!

With no F2F conference in Chicago, the History Librarians Discussion Group went virtual for the first time on Monday, June 29 – and we had a great turnout! The theme of the discussion was “Coping with Library Shutdowns” and we broke into small groups to discuss plans and concerns for preparing to reopen; technical workarounds for closed stacks; virtual exhibits and programming; and collection development for an electronic library. A summary of all the small group discussions was shared via history-l, rusa-l, and acr-history IG listservs. Because we had so many registrants, we hope to offer a follow-up event to cover additional topics of interest and also explore different platforms to allow for broader participation. So, keep your eyes and ears peeled for details! Big thanks to facilitators Steve Knowlton, Agnes Widder, and Melissa Gonzalez, and also to Quetzalli Barrientos, Priscilla Finley, Brittany O’Neill, Leanna Pagano, Taylor Ralph, and Chella Vaidyanathan for serving as discussion leaders and note takers.